at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada…

one truth-speaker wrote me that she ”was really mad about all the sexual abuse that RC priests had inflicted on my family, of origin and extended and I told him [this RC priest at the TRC] so.  I told him that the church needs to stop protecting child abusers.  I shared how the nuns were down right mean and spiteful in High School.  I talked about the results sexual abuse and gave examples of the struggles and inability to care for oneself, never mind keep a job.  Mental health issues.  I ended it with saying that the church did more harm than good.  I cried.  I left feeling relieved.

The final day at the closing, I heard more statements, more tears.  Then they closed off the day with a birthday celebration.  Birthdays were never celebrated in residential schools.  They really did a great job with the birthday celebration, it was a fabulous time! … Grateful to have the opportunity to tell my story and have it archived forever so that others can learn from it.  I feel a relief that I don’t have to carry the story by myself anymore. It will have meaning for others. Relief. I can’t say enough about that experience.  It has helped bring me peace.  Grateful for that.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada…

  1. shelleyshell says:

    It’s worth noting that this was the first Truth Commission ever in the western world. This is serious. The treatment of the children was unspeakable. Time and time again, the church has abused it powers in the hands of the vulnerable. This must stop. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

